Curriculum and Instruction

Current Curriculum

Like all other schools in Iowa, ADM utilizes the Iowa Core, a set of standards designed to identify a baseline for instruction in kindergarten through 12th grade.  Use the following link to learn more about the Iowa Core.

Iowa Core                                                                


Power Standards

Power standards are the “promises” that we make to our students about what they will learn. ADM Professional Learning Communities (PLCs) use collective inquiry to determine power standards for each content area in order to ensure students have access to a guaranteed and viable curriculum. To help focus this process, PLCs are asked to use the following four-part test when determining if a standard should be considered a “Power Standard”:

  • Endurance: Are students expected to retain the knowledge and skill beyond the unit and the course?
  • Leverage: Will the student be able to apply the standard in more than one subject area?
  • Next Level: Has this standard been identified as an essential prerequisite skill in the next course or grade level?
  • Success on High-Stakes Exams: Is this a concept or skill that students are likely to encounter on state exams, college entrance exams, etc.?

Click on the database image below allows users to view all Iowa Core standards as well the identified as “Power Standards” at ADM.  Use the top filters to view the information by “curricular area”, “grade”, and “power status” to view AMD’s Power Standards.

Special Education Service Delivery Plan

Special Education Service Delivery Plan     

Teacher Leadership & Compensation (TLC) System

Improving student learning requires improving the instruction they receive each day. There is no better way to do this than to empower our best teachers to lead the effort.

TLC Department of Education Overview     

ADM  TLC Application                                      

TLC Job Descriptions


Des Moines Web Design by Juicebox Interactive
en English