Five 6th grade students have spent months studying and preparing for this year’s National Science Bowl Competition. The event took place at Iowa State University on February 18th, where over 20 teams consisting of 6-8th graders around Iowa participated.  Each round, students went head to head against another team to answer science and math questions.  The DeSoto team went 2-2 in the Round Robin play which earned them a spot in the double elimination bracket in the afternoon. They played three more rounds before being eliminated, coming in 9th place overall.

Students included: Braylon Whipps, Clara Uthe, Dawson Foster, Arthur Chaplin, and Lucas Seifert. Coaches included 6th grade teachers Courtney Stephenson and Amanda Juergensen